The UQ Hydrometallurgy Research Group maintains a portfolio of fundamental and applied research across a range of hydrometallurgical processes relevant to industry sectors including base metals, precious metals and Bayer alumina processing.

Currently projects are focused on key aspects of processing, including leaching metal-bearing materials, ion exchange and membrane separations, as well as precipitation from aqueous solutions. The hydrometallurgy group is part of a holistic extractive metallurgy program and maintains close interaction with pyrometallurgists and mineral processors to improve process routes for metal extraction and product recovery.

Research Staff

Associate Professor James Vaughan
Phone: +61 7 3365 3850
Email: james.vaughan@uq.edu.au

Professor Peter Hayes
Email: p.hayes@uq.edu.au

Dr Hong (Marco) Peng
Advance Queensland Research Fellow
Email: h.peng2@uq.edu.au

Dr Weng Fu
Research Fellow
​Email: w.fu1@uq.edu.au

Dr Harrison Hodge
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: h.hodge@uq.edu.au

Industry Fellows

Dr John Vogrin - Zeotech
​Email: j.vogrin@uq.edu.au

Mrs Jenni Cox - Zeotech
Email: jenni_cox@ymail.com

Research Scholars

Professional Staff