Professor Lianzhou Wang named a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science

23 May 2024

Materials scientist Professor Lianzhou Wang has received one of the highest honours available to members of the local research community: being named a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.

Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science are among the nation’s most distinguished scientists, elected by their peers for ground-breaking research and contributions that have had clear impact. Up to 25 new fellows are admitted each year.

Professor Wang is a senior group leader and Australian Research Council Australian Laureate Fellow in the School of Chemical Engineering and the Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology AIBN (AIBN) where he is focussed on the clean energy sector, and developing new functional materials for solar energy conversion and storage systems.

Professor Lianzhou Wang FAA

His nomination to the Academy comes just weeks after he was named The University of Queensland’s first ever Australian Research Council Industry Laureate Fellow, winning $3.6 million to help position Australia as a leading supplier of superior batteries for electric vehicles.

“I am incredibly humbled to be named among this distinguished group,” Professor Wang said.

“To be recognised in such a way by my peers is truly an honour.”

Professor Wang joins other high-profile names such as Australia’s Chief Scientist Dr Cathy Foley, UQ Emeritus Professor Ian Frazer, and Nobel Laureates Professor Barry Marshall, Professor Brian Schmidt, Professor Peter Doherty, and Professor Robin Warren.

The Australian Academy of Science was founded in 1954 by Australian Fellows of the Royal Society of London, with the distinguished physicist Sir Mark Oliphant as founding President.

Professor Wang’s work in renewable energy applications at UQ earned him an ARC Laureate Fellowship in 2019 after his lab set the world record for efficiency in quantum dot solar cells.