Researcher biography

Prof Yuan received his PhD degree in aeronautical engineering in 1992 from Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China. He changed research direction to wastewater management in 1994, when he took up a postdoctoral research fellow position at Ghent University, Belgium. He joined the Advanced Water Management Centre (AWMC) at The University of Queensland in 1998. He served as the AWMC Deputy Director 2001-2014, and is currently the Director. His research focuses on development of innovative solutions for urban water management through effective integration of fundamental science and applied engineering. He has to date won $45M in government, industry and university research funding since 2001 including 24 ARC Discovery, Linkage and Fellowship grants totalling over $23M, mostly as the lead Chief Investigator. Prof Yuan was one of the founding members of the $117m Cooperative Research Centre for Water Sensitive Cities. He has to date published ~450 fully refereed journal papers including a paper in Nature (2013) and Science (2014). His h-index is 76/90, with 19,517/26,522 citations (Scopus/Google Scholar, accessed on May 17, 2020). He is the founder of three biotechnology businesses namely SeweX, Cloevis and Lodomat, and his research has delivered documented savings of over $400 million to the Australian water industry. His research achievements and leadership have been recognized through national and international awards including the 2015 ATSE Clunies Ross Award and the International Water Association (IWA) 2014 Global Project Innovation Award (Applied Research Category) – as Project Leader. Prof Yuan is an IWA Distinguished Fellow and was named as one of Engineers Australia's Top 100 Most Influential Engineers for 2015. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE). He was awarded the highly prestigious ARC Australian Laureate Fellowship in 2017, and appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in January 2019.